English Language Proficiency

Undergraduate English Language Proficiency

If you are a graduate applicant seeking admission, please refer to the English proficiency requirements by your department on the UCCS Graduate School website.

If you are an undergraduate applicant seeking direct admission, the English Proficiency requirements are in the table below. Conditional admission is offered to undergraduate students who are academically competitive but have not met the English Proficiency Admission Requirement


Minimum Scores*

TOEFL (IBT) (UCCS code: 4874)




PTE Academic


ACT (English sub-score) (UCCS code: 0535)


SAT I ERWS (UCCS code: 4874)


WAEC/WASSCE (West African Senior School Certificate)


Cambridge English Proficiency (CPE)


Cambridge English Advanced (CAE)


AP (English Language & Composition/English Literature & Composition) 


IB Higher Level English A Literature


IB Higher Level English A Language and Literature


AS Level or A Level English or English Language Subject


Duolingo English Test (DET)



Photocopies and scanned documents may be submitted for initial review and decision-making; Official scores must be sent directly to UCCS from the testing agencies or your U.S. high school upon admission.

  • Completion of a UCCS-approved English language program (such as the CU Boulder International English Center, HOFT, or the ELS Language Center) and receiving the approved scores
  • U.S. College or University: Completed a minimum of one year (two full-time semesters) of academic coursework at a U.S. college or university including completion of English Composition I with a grade of C or higher.
  • Citizens of a country whose first/official language is English or the language of instruction is English and who have completed all secondary or post-secondary schooling in that country need to provide a letter from the school.
  • Exempt Countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Canada (except Quebec), Cayman Islands, Dominica, England, Fiji, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland (Northern), Ireland (Republic of), Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Malawi, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Namibia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Seychelles,  Sierra Leone, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Uganda, United Kingdom, Vanuatu, Wales, Zambia, Zimbabwe