Message from the Chair

Dr James Burkart

Welcome to the Department of Physics and Energy Science! We are an enthusiastic department devoted to excellence in both teaching and research. Here are some examples:

  • Half of the faculty have won the campus-wide Teaching Award
  • Two faculty members have been named as President's Teaching Scholars, a system-wide teaching award
  • Three members of the department have won the college and/or campus-wide Research Award
  • We involve undergraduates, graduates and high school students in our research
  • The department has over $5 million of research equipment and state of the art research labs

Dr. James Burkhart

Program Videos

Interested in becoming a secondary school Physics Teacher?

Teach Physics Image


Tolya Pinchuk and Kelli Klebe
Pinchuk wins the 2018 UCCS Research Award
Prof. Pinchuk was presented with the Faculty Award for Excellence in Research. | MORE
Patrick Yarbrough
PhD student wins 3 Minute Thesis People's Choice Award
Patrick Yarbrough took out an award at the inaugural UCCS 3MT competition in May. | MORE
Karen Livesey
Livesey named Emmy Noether Visiting Fellow 2018-19
Assist. Prof. Karen Livesey will travel to the Perimeter Institute in Canada. | MORE
Eclipse image
Eclipse fever merges with first day of classes
Ramon Tirado, senior instructor, used a 10-inch diameter telescope to provide a close-up view on the first day of the Fall 2017 semester.| MORE
Regents name Celinski distinguished professor
Prof. Celinski's promotion was announced at a November 2016 meeting of the CU Board of Regents.| MORE
2016 Research Celebration - Bob and Zbignies
Camley and Celinski join $10 million Club
Physics professors were among those lauded at the annual Celebration of Sponsored Programs. | MORE
For Christensen, leadership is a lifestyle
UCCS physics professor recognized with 2015 Excellence in Leadership Award | MORE
Undergraduate Miriam DeJong wins Best Student Poster prizes
at the Front Range Advanced Magnetics Symposium (Sep 2015) and the APS 4 Corners Meeting (Oct 2015) for her theoretical work on magnetic domain walls in nanowires. See Physical Review B vol.92, p.214420 (2015)."