Faculty Governance

Campus Picture

All faculty members are part of the Faculty Assembly. The Faculty Assembly as a whole usually meets 1-2 times per academic year. A representative group known as the Representative Assembly meets monthly during the academic year. The Representative Assembly consists of the elected officers of the Faculty Assembly, elected Faculty Council representatives, elected representatives from each of the colleges and the library, the chairs of all standing committees, and at-large members elected by the Faculty Assembly.


All members of the faculty are also part of the Faculty Senate which is a system-wide group. Meetings of the Faculty Senate are usually held twice during the academic year. The university wide Faculty Council is a representative group of the Senate group that meets monthly. This group is similar to our Representative Assembly. Our campus has three elected members to the Council. Our Assembly president also serves as a member of the Council. Basically the working groups are our own Representative Assembly and the system-wide Faculty Council. Our Assembly president is a member of the Deans’ Council. Opportunities to serve on campus and university wide committees are numerous.

The Faculty Assembly President receives numerous requests throughout the year for faculty representatives for committees. Please don’t hesitate to respond to a call for volunteers!


2018-2019  Officers and Representatives


President: Melissa Benton
President-Elect: Mary Coussons-Read
Past President: Maja Krakowiak
Secretary: Norah Mazel
Admin Assistant: Sue Myers

Faculty Council (website)

Monica Yoo, EDU
Carmen Stavrositu, LAS
Sue Byerley, LIB

Elected Representatives

Beth-El: Eileen Gerrard-Gough
Beth-El: Margaret Hunt
Beth-El: Carole Traylor
BUS: Kaitlyn DeGhetto
BUS: Martin Key
BUS: Matt Metzger
EDU: Andrea Bingham
EDU: Joe Wehrman
EDU: Patty Witkowsky
EAS: Pam Carter
EAS: Jugal Kalita
EAS: Les Tekamp
LAS: Leah Chandler Mills
LAS: Suzanne Cook
LAS: David Diamond
LAS: Sarah Treschl
LAS: Yang Wei
LAS: Glen Whitehead
LAS: Kristi McCann
LAS: Wendy Haggren
LAS: Nicole Huber
LAS: Kathrin Spendier
LAS: Michelle Dorne
LAS: Leilani Feliciano
LAS: David Havlick
LAS: Andrew Lac
LIB: Joel Tonyan
SPA: Michael Landon-Murray

Committee Chairs

EPUS: Andrea Hutchins
Personnel & Benefits: Pam Carter
Budget: Rhonda Glazier
Non-Tenure Track Faculty: Scott Van Ness, Michael Larkin
Misconduct in Research: Dale DeBoer
Minority Affairs: Carlos Duarte, Kimbra Smith
Women's Committee: Elizabeth Daniels
Teaching With Technology: Dave Anderson
Library: Inactive as of May 2017
Intercollegiate Athletics: Jackie Berning
Sustainability: Nanna Meyer
PRIDE: Melissa Benton, Samantha Adrian