Skip to Page Content

Search for in

University Relations

April 4, 2008 Communique

Unstoppable women.

Inspirational. Uplifting. Charismatic. These words describe the women honored today at the 5th Annual Unstoppable Women’s Luncheon. The luncheon, held at the UCCS Gymnasium, paid tribute to the 2008 Karen Possehl Scholar Graduates and the 2008 Unstoppable Woman. (All recipients are listed below.)

More than 300 local community members gathered to honor these women, and UCCS Chancellor Shockley-Zalabak, a speaker at today’s luncheon, applauded the scholars and the 2008 Unstoppable Woman for their enduring spirits, accomplishments and unstoppable leadership. She also commended the luncheon attendees for continuing to support such an important and rewarding program.

Since the program’s inception in 1996-97, the Karen Possehl Women’s Endowment (KPWE) has provided opportunities for talented and deserving women to attend UCCS. Through financial assistance, the KPWE affords these non-traditional women, women who have decided to attend college later in life and who have faced much adversity, the chance to pursue their educational goals.

The program also helps these scholars gain confidence in their skills and abilities. Each scholar is matched with a community mentor who offers inspiration and encouragement.

In addition to honoring the graduating scholars each year, the Unstoppable Woman luncheon also honors a local community member for their leadership and accomplishments. This honoree serves as a role model all women can look up to. This year Barbara Yalich was named as the 2008 Unstoppable Woman.

The 2008 Karen Possehl scholars are:

  • Sunshine Dalton – major biology, minor geography and environmental studies
  • Dawn Gilkes –major psychology and sociology, minor pre-law
  • Peggy Kohl – major political science and history, minor geography
  • Sarah Martin – major biology and philosophy
  • Cathy Maxson – major Spanish
  • Desiree Mendes – major biology, minor chemistry
  • Trisha Mendiola – major biology and chemistry
  • Jennifer Nail – major English, minor communication
  • Denis Pope – major accounting
  • Janell Sinclair – major nursing
View Current Communique