About GPRM

Regional DivisionsThe American Association of Geographers (AAG) is a non-profit scientific and educational society founded in 1904 and is organized into nine divisions representing different regions of the United States. The Great Plains / Rocky Mountain (GPRM) Division of the AAG serves the membership in Colorado, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, and Wyoming, and holds an annual meeting each fall. The meeting site rotates among geography departments in the region. Hosting the meeting provides opportunities to strengthen the regional geographic community. Meetings include paper and poster sessions, social events, and the Geography Bowl (GeoBowl), an exciting event in which student teams compete for the regional title. Field trips that highlight the local / regional geographies are often provided by the host geography departments. Membership in the GPRM Division is gained automatically through AAG membership and by residing in the region.

The GPRM Division strives to support the following objectives:

  • to encourage geographical research and scholarship
  • to provide a forum to share results of that research with other professionals and interested participants
  • to promote a sense of community among geographers in the region
  • to strengthen geographic education at all levels