Outstanding Teacher Award


Candidates will be judged to be outstanding in the teaching component of their scholarly endeavors. Specific requirements are that the candidates:

  1. Be full-time faculty members of UCCS with a rank of Assistant Professor or above
  2. Be in at least their third year of teaching at UCCS
  3. Have not received this award previously


Anyone may nominate the candidate; self-nominations are accepted. Supporting materials must include:

  1. A letter of nomination that briefly describes the nominee's teaching excellence
  2. A narrative (double-spaced, 1000-word maximum) describing the nominee's teaching philosophy, written by the nominee
  3. A maximum of five letters of recommendation (These can be solicited from students, faculty or administrators and should demonstrate a knowledge of the nominee's qualifications for the award.)
  4. The nominee's curriculum vitae
  5. Faculty Course Questionnaires for all courses taught during the last three academic years
    1. For hard-copy FCQs prior to Fall 2017, the original summaries and response sheets
    2. For online FCQs, the summaries and comments

While this award emphasizes excellence in teaching, the committee recognizes that all faculty are expected to perform meritoriously in the areas of research, creative works, and service as well. Those components need not be addressed in the letters or narrative, but should be discernable in the curriculum vitae.

Additional supporting documentation is welcome, but should be relevant and be kept brief.

Supporting materials should be assembled as a package and delivered to David Anderson, Chair, Campus Awards Committee, CENT 241. (See also Tips for Preparing Award Nominations.)

Nomination Deadline

March 13, 2020


The winner of the Outstanding Teacher Award will receive a custom-made freestanding sculptured award and $4,000 (less taxes). The award will be presented at the Campus Awards Ceremony.


Funding for the Outstanding Teacher Award is provided by the Provost.

Questions? Contact: David Anderson, Chair of the Faculty Awards Committee