Department of Physics & Energy Science


Message from the Chair

Dr. James Burkhart

Welcome to the Department of Physics and Energy Science! We are an enthusiastic department devoted to excellence in both teaching and research. Here are some examples:

  • Half of the faculty have won the campus-wide Teaching Award
  • Two faculty members have been named as President's Teaching Scholars, a system-wide teaching award
  • Three members of the department have won the college and/or campus-wide Research Award
  • We involve undergraduates, graduates and high school students in our research
  • The department has over $5 million of research equipment and state of the art research labs
  • Dr. James Burkhart


Program Videos

Interested in becoming a secondary school Physics Teacher?

Teach Physics


For Christensen, leadership is a lifestyle
UCCS physics professor recognized with 2015 Excellence in Leadership Award | MORE
Magnetic North V
The 2016 Magnetic North V Conference will be held at the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs. June 26-30. | MORE
Miriam DeJong wins Best Student Poster prizes at the Front Range Advanced Magnetics Symposium
(September 2015) and the APS 4 Corners Meeting (October 2015) for her theoretical work on magnetic domain walls in nanowires. See Physical Review B vol.92, p.214420 (2015)."