Grants & Awards

Award Nominations
for the

Elizabeth D. Gee
Memorial Lectureship Award

are requested by

The Faculty Council Committee on Women

October 19, 2007

This award recognizes and honors an outstanding female faculty member of the University of Colorado for scholarly contributions, distinguished teaching, interdisciplinary work and efforts to advance women in academia. Begun in 1992, the award is named for Elizabeth Gee, a faculty member in the Health Sciences Center School of Nursing and the late wife of former CU President Gordon Gee.

The Gee Award is the only award in the CU system that specifically recognizes the work of outstanding women faculty members. It carries with it a $1000 prize and the recipient will have an opportunity to present her scholarly work at a research symposium/award ceremony.

Eligibility: Any full-time faculty member from the any of the CU campuses may be nominated.
See below for more details.

Criteria: The criteria for selecting recipients of the award are as follows:

  • Significant and original scholarship and/or creative work;
  • Distinguished record in teaching excellence;
  • Record of advancing women in the academic community;
  • Record of research, teaching, and/or service that pushes the boundaries of disciplinary knowledge and makes connection between disciplines.

To nominate a candidate, submit a nomination statement in letter form, a 2-3 page abbreviated current curriculum vitae of the nominee, a one-two page personal statement from the nominee, and a minimum of three letters of support from the University community and/or the extended academic community. Nomination packets should not exceed twenty pages. Nominations will only be accepted when all materials are submitted by the deadline to the Faculty Council Office (address listed below). Previous nominees are encouraged to re-apply. Preference will be given to nominees who have been at the University of Colorado at least five years.

Submit all materials by October 19, 2007 to:

University of Colorado
Faculty Council Women's Committee

Attn: Maureen Ryan

1800 Grant Street, Suite 745
35 UCA
Denver, CO 80203-1187