UCCS | Department of Visual And Performing Arts

VAPA

HOME PEOPLE RESOURCES CAREERS GIVING

 

Art History

Film Studies

Museum Studies

Music

Theatre and Dance

Visual Art

Contact Us

About Us

News and Events

 

People

VAPA Faculty & Staff

 
Name / TitleExpertisePhone / Email

Suzanne MacAulay, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair

Art of the Pacific Rim, Ethnographic Textiles, Material Culture

719/255-3865
smacaula@uccs.edu

Beverly Kiselich
Program Assistant

 

719/255-4065
719/255-4066
bkiselic@uccs.edu

Art History

Elissa Auther, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Director, Art History

Feminist Art & Theory, Modern & Contemporary Art

719/255-4612
eauther@uccs.edu

Julie Cole
Lecturer

Art Through the Ages, Modern Art

Judith Couchman
Lecturer

Ancient, Byzantine, Celtic, Early Christian, Egyptian, Gothic, Greek, Medieval, Roman, Romanesque Art

judithcouchman@comcast.net

Carolyn Intemann
Lecturer

19th Century Painting & Sculpture, Renaissance & Baroque Art

719/255-4360
cinteman@uccs.edu

Lauren Kinnee
Lecturer

Egyptian Art, Greek Art, Roman Art

lmk255@nyu.edu

Kathryn Lewis-Salem
Lecturer

Art Through the Ages

719/255-4382

Suzanne MacAulay, Ph.D.
Professor

Art of the Pacific Rim, Ethnographic Textiles, Material Culture

719/255-3865
smacaula@uccs.edu

Molly Medakovich
Lecturer

Women, Visual Arts and Culture

Senga Nengudi-Fittz
Lecturer

Woman of Color & Indigenous Arts

snfittz@gmail.com

Sandra Sider
Lecturer

History of Graphic Design, History of Quilts in the US

Michaela Steen
Lecturer

Ancient Near Eastern Art, AH 1500: Art & Ideas, Greek Art

719/255-4062
msteen2@uccs.edu

Film Studies

Teresa Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

 

719/255-4049
tmeadows@uccs.edu

Mary Jane Sullivan
Lecturer

Documentary Film

motionpoetics@gmail.com

Robert von Dassanowsky, Ph.D.
Professor
Director, Film Studies

Film Studies

719/255-3562
rvondass@uccs.edu

Museum Studies & Gallery Practice

Karin Larkin, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Museum Studies

719/255-3124
klarkin@uccs.edu

Hillary Mannion
Lecturer

Museum Studies

 

Daisy McConnell
Director, Galleries of Contemporary Art

GOCA1420 & GOCA121

719/255-3504
dmcconne@uccs.edu

Music (Full-Time Faculty)

Colin McAllister, D.M.A.
Lecturer
Coordinator, VAPA Music Program

Guitar (Classical, Experimental, Jazz), Guitar Ensemble, Music Business and Entrepreneurship, Classical Music History

719/255-5134
cmcallis@uccs.edu
www.colinmcallister.com

Jane Rigler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Flute, Composition, Improvisation, Interdisciplinary Music Performance, Jazz History, 20th Century Music History, Performance Art, Creativity, Chamber Ensemble

719/255-5144
jrigler@uccs.edu

Curtis Smith, M.A.
Senior Instructor

Piano, Theory, Computer Music, Creativity, Music & Art

719/255-3569
csmith@uccs.edu

Glen Whitehead, D.M.A.
Assistant Professor
Director, UCCS Music Program

Trumpet, Contemporary Music, Jazz & Improvised Music, Electro Acoustic Ensemble, Interdisciplinary Improvisation, Sound Art

719/255-4155
gwhitehe@uccs.edu

Music (Part-Time Faculty)

Sondra Bell, D.M.A.

Mountain Lion Pep/Concert Band

trombonebell@gmail.com

Brad Bietry, M.M.
Lecturer

UCCS Jazz Ensemble, Jazz History, Private Lessons in Jazz/Commercial Piano

bradbietry@gmail.com

Vicki Burrichter, D.M.A.
Lecturer

University Choir, Introduction to Music

vburrichter@msn.com

Jeff Cloutier
Lecturer

Audio Engineering

773/349-3120
jeff@jeffcloutier.com

Angelina Gadeliya, D.M.A.

Private Piano, Class Piano

646/382-5466
agadeliya@yahoo.com
www.angelinagadeliya.com

Sean Hennessy

Film Scoring & Music Composition

shenness@uccs.edu
www.seanschaferhennessy.com

William Malone, M.M.
Lecturer

Saxophone, Clarinet, Intro to Non-Western Music & Jazz History, Music Theory III/IV

william.malone@ppcc.edu

Abe Minzer, D.M.A.
Lecturer

Music Appreciation and Theory, Piano

719/229-2239
aminzer@comcast.net
www.classicallyalive.com
www.abeminzer.com

Solveig Olsen, M.M.
Lecturer

Voice, VAPA Vocal Ensemble, Beginning and Advanced Musical Theater, Sight Singing and Ear Training I,II, and III

773/520-0022
solveig_o@yahoo.com
www.solveigolsen.com

Scott Walton, D.M.A.
Lecturer

Jazz History, Intro to Music

swalton@ucsd.edu

Thomas Wilson, M.M.

Foundations of Conducting, Chamber Orchestra of the Springs

tgwmaestro@q.com

Private Lesson Instructors [click here to register]

 

Woodwinds (click here for info)

 

 

Jane Rigler, Ph.D.
Head of Woodwinds

Flute, Composition & Improvisation, Interdisciplinary, Electo Acoustic

719/255-5144
jrigler@uccs.edu

Nancy Brown

Oboe

719/637-3793
n-brown@q.com

www.crystalcreekmusic.com

William Malone, M.A.

Saxophone, Clarinet

william.malone@ppcc.edu

 

Brass (click here for info)

 

Glen Whitehead, D.M.A.
Head of Brass

Trumpet, Composition & Improvisation, Electro Acoustic, Sound Design

719/255-4155
gwhitehe@uccs.edu

Jeremy van Hoy
Colorado Springs Philharmonic

Trombone/Low Brass

jeremyvanhoy@gmail.com

Bron Wright
Colorado Springs Philharmonic (Principal Trombonist)

Trombone

bronwright@gmail.com

 

Strings (click here for info)

 

Colin McAllister, D.M.A.
Head of Strings

Guitar (Classical, Experimental, Jazz), Guitar Ensemble, Music Business and Entrepreneurship, Classical Music History

719/255-5134
cmcallis@uccs.edu
www.colinmcallister.com

Martha Morrison, M.M.

Violin/Viola

mmorrison29@gmail.com

Susan Smith

Cello

curtandsus@msn.com

Mark Neihof
Colorado Springs Philharmonic

Acoustic Bass (Jazz, Classical)

bassnstein@gmail.com

Janet Feder

Classical/Instrumental Guitar (Fingerstyle) for Composers & Performers, Improvisation, Extended Techniques

brainbox@janetfeder.com
www.janetfeder.com

Alan Joseph

Jazz Guitar

ajosegtr@gmail.com

 

Piano (click here for info)

 

Curtis Smith, M.A.
Head of Piano

Piano

719/255-3569
csmith@uccs.edu

Brad Bietry, M.M. 
Lecturer

UCCS Jazz Ensemble, Jazz History, Private Lessons in Jazz/Commercial Piano

bradbietry@gmail.com

Abe Minzer

Piano

aminzer@comcast.net

Angelina Gadeliya, D.M.A.

Private Piano, Class Piano

646/382-5466
agadeliya@yahoo.com
www.angelinagadeliya.com

 

Percussion

 
Randy Bowen Drums, Percussion rando3@earthlink.net
Bob Jurkscheit Orchestral Percussion bobjanno@wmconnect.com
 

Voice (click here for info)

 

Vicki Burrichter, D.M.A.
Lecturer

University Choir, Introduction to Music

vburrichter@msn.com
www.drvickiburrichter.com

Gayle Grace

Voice (Jazz, Classical, Music Theatre)

gaylegrace13@gmail.com

Connie Heidenreich

Voice

conjh@earthlink.net

Solveig Olsen

Voice, VAPA Vocal Ensemble, Beginning and Advanced Musical Theater, Sight Singing and Ear Training I,II, and III

773/520-0022
solveig_o@yahoo.com
www.solveigolsen.com

 

Composition

 

Sean Hennessy

Film Scoring & Music Composition

shenness@uccs.edu
www.seanschaferhennessy.com

Jane Rigler, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Flute, Composition, Improvisation, Interdisciplinary Music Performance, Jazz History, 20th Century Music History, Performance Art, Creativity, Chamber Ensemble

719/255-5144
jrigler@uccs.edu

Janet Feder
Lecturer

Composition/Improvisation

brainbox@janetfeder.com
www.janetfeder.com

Glen Whitehead, D.M.A.
Associate Professor
Director, UCCS Music Program

Trumpet, Contemporary Music, Jazz & Improvised Music, Electro Acoustic Ensemble, Interdisciplinary Improvisation, Sound Art

719/255-4155
gwhitehe@uccs.edu

 

Audio/Sound

 

Jeff Cloutier

Audio Engineering

773/349-3120
jeff@jeffcloutier.com

Theatre & Dance

Roy Ballard
Lecturer
Technical Director, THEATREWORKS

Technical Theatre

uburoy@aol.com

Leah Chandler-Mills
Instructor

Acting and Voice

lchandle@uccs.edu

Caitlin Green
Development Director, THEATREWORKS

 

719/255-3114
cgreen@uccs.edu

Kevin Landis, Ph.D., M.F.A.
Assistant Professor
Director, Theatre

Theatre History, Theory and Advanced Acting

719/255-5133
klandis@uccs.edu

Joye Cook-Levy, M.A.
Lecturer

Educational Theatre and Outreach, Acting

jcooklev@uccs.edu

Drew Martorella
Executive Director, THEATREWORKS

London Theatre Tour

719/255-3232
dmartore@uccs.edu

Teresa Meadows, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

French Theatre and Women in Theatre

719/255-4049
tmeadows@uccs.edu

Robert Rais
Lecturer

Comedy History and Practice, Film Acting

 

Mary Ripper Baker, B.F.A.
Lecturer

Modern Dance, Ballet, Musical Theatre, and Jazz

719/310-2395
maryripper@hotmail.com
www.motionstudies.com

Murray Ross
Instructor
Artistic Director, THEATREWORKS

Theatre History and Directing

719/255-3134
mross@uccs.edu

Tiffany Tinsley-Weeks
Lecturer

Modern Dance, Ballet, and Improvisational Dance

 

Visual Art

Matt Barton, M.F.A.
Assistant Professor
Co-Director, Visual Art

Sculpture

719/255-3880
mbarton@uccs.edu

Valerie Brodar, M.F.A.
Associate Professor
Bachelor of Innovation Faculty Associate Director LAS

Media Arts

719/255-4306
vbrodar@uccs.edu

Carol Dass, B.A.
Senior Instructor

Photography

719/255-4382
cdass@uccs.edu

Corey Drieth, M.F.A.
Assistant Professor
Co-Director, Visual Art

Painting, Drawing

719/255-4052
cdrieth@uccs.edu

Marina Eckler, M.F.A.
Instructor

Painting, Drawing, Foundations

meckler@uccs.edu 

Pauline Foss, M.F.A.
Senior Instructor

Painting, Drawing

pfoss@uccs.edu

Olivia Lundberg, M.F.A.
Instructor

Painting, Drawing, Foundations

olivialundberg@yahoo.com 

Nikki Pike, M.F.A.
Instructor

Painting, Drawing, Foundations

npike@uccs.edu 

Claire Rau, M.F.A.
Senior Instructor

Sculpture, Foundations

crau@uccs.edu 

Erik Schubert, M.F.A.
Instructor

Photography

eschuber@uccs.edu

Visual Resource Center

Michaela Steen
Coordinator, Visual Resources

 

719/255-4062
msteen2@uccs.edu

Emeriti Faculty

Lin Fife, M.F.A
Professor Emerita

 

lfife@uccs.edu

Julia Hoerner, M.F.A
Professor Emerita