Voicemail Phone Menus (PDF)
There are four playback speeds: Slow, Normal, Fast, and Fastest. To change the playback speed, do one of the following while listening to a message from a phone:
Once changed, the setting is remembered for all messages. However, this setting does not affect the playback speed of messages listened to from email.
To set a vacation message, you will use what is referred to in the system as an "alternate greeting". This greeting can be turned on or off as needed, and can be set to auto-expire at a specified date and time. By using the alternate greeting, you do not have to re-record your standard greeting each time you take leave. By using the auto-expire feature (referred to as "setting an end date"), you also do not have to remember to turn off your alternate greeting when you get back because the system will return to using your standard greeting on its own.
Call handlers (voicemail trees) are any number that, when called, if there is not a person there to pick up the phone, results in the caller hearing a menu: i.e. "Press 1 for person A; press 2 for person B...". In most cases, the options will route the caller to a voicemail-only number. If a person is sitting by the phone, the phone call can be picked up and the caller will not hear the menu. Since not all voicemail-only numbers are associated with call handlers, voicemail-only numbers can be direct-dialed like a normal campus phone number.
Note: All voicemail-only users access their voicemail as if checking their voicemail from off-campus.
Note: Email integration is only available for faculty and staff phone numbers; general purpose and student phone numbers are not eligible for integration.
Voicemail emails show up in Exchange with a Subject starting with "Message from" followed by either a number or a name. To listen to the voicemail, click on the attached .wav file and open it with an audio player (Windows Media Player, iTunes, etc.). While the message is marked as Unread, the Message Waiting Indicator (MWI) light on your phone will be on and there will be a flashing envelope next to your extension on your phone's screen. Your phone's screen may also state "You Have VoiceMail". This is not the same as "# New Missed Calls", where "#" is a number. The synchronization between the system knowing that you have "read" a message and it turning off the phone's indicators is at least a few seconds.
If you delete a voicemail message from your Email, it will go to your Deleted Items folder (like all other Emails), where it will sit for up to two (2) weeks until the email system permanently deletes it. During this time, the message will still count against your voicemail quota. The voicemail system will not permanently delete a message that is still in your Email, even if it is in your Deleted Items folder. If you need to permanently delete one or more messages due to quota issues, go to your Deleted Items folder and either empty your folder, or find all messages with a Subject starting with "Message from" and delete just those messages. Once you have deleted the messages from your email, log into the voicemail system from your phone. If less than 24 hours have passed, you should be prompted to permanently delete all messages that have been marked for deletion.
There are three types of quota limits:
In all cases, when the affected voicemail box is checked, the applicable warning message will play every time, in its entirety, until the mailbox is brought back below the quota limit.
Note: It is not the number of messages that matters; it is the total size of all stored messages (new, saved and deleted) that matters.
When there are personnel changes involving personally assigned phone numbers, please be aware that the voicemail box will follow the user. What this means is, if the user is no longer employed at UCCS, their voicemail box will be deleted, which means all messages will be lost. If the user changes departments or phone numbers within a department, the phone number associated with their voicemail box will change, but the user will retain all messages and will not have to change their PIN or greetings. It is not possible for two users to be assigned to the same voicemail box, nor is it possible to transfer an unemployed user's voicemail box to a new user.
To assign a voicemail box to a new user, first, the user must be in the IT system. If there is a voicemail box for a previous user still in the voicemail system for the phone number in question, it will be deleted. All previous messages will be lost at this time. The new user will then be assigned a voicemail box associated with the assigned phone number.