Department of English




to the homepage for riverrun, a free publication for student art and literature, that is made available to the campus community during May at several sites around campus.

What is riverrun?

The student-run publication, riverrun, is devoted to constructing a creative community. Begun in 1971 by Dr. C. Kenneth Pellow, it has long since been an avenue through which artists and writers have been able to express their voices. It has even had some well known contributors, such as Yusef Komunyakaa, who won the Pulitzer Prize for poetry in 1994; Marc Weber, an award winning poet; and Sally Mankus, a photographer, sculptor, and mixed-media artist whose works continue to be exhibited throughout the country.

Why riverrun

Dr. Pellow and his first group of students working on the campus arts journal decided to name the journal riverrun in honor of the first word in James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake. The book’s innovative style of combining words and reinventing the English language represents the paradoxical necessities to merge differences and to keep changing. But the book is also written cyclically, with the very last line feeding back into the book’s opening word. This fluid, cyclical nature implies that both convergence and divergence from the norm are vital for survival.

Thus, the word “riverrun” must never be capitalized, as it is not capitalized in Finnegans Wake.

How to Get Involved

riverrun is currently accepting submissions for the 42nd volume and will continue do so until the deadline, November 7, 2014. Submissions may, but are not limited to, include:

  • Visual Art
  • Poetry
  • Fiction/ Short stories
  • Drama
  • Non-Fiction
  • Essays

Please send up to five submissions to, along with a completed submission form.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding submissions, or if you are interested in joining the selection committee, please email us at Thank you for a great year! The riverrun staff

Editorial Staff

Sarah Costantino, Editor-in-Chief, and Mary Carmack, Wayne Allen, and Kaurie Fjellman, Assistant Editors

Faculty Advisers

Dr. Alex Ilyasova and Dr. Kirsten Ortega

Find us on Facebook

College of Letters, Arts & Sciences | Department of English
Phone: (719) 255-4018 | Location: COLU 1025
Department Chair Dr. Lesley Ginsberg | Phone: (719) 255-4004 |
Administrative Contact: Rose Johnson | Phone: (719) 255-4018 |