If you have questions, concerns, comments please contact Circulation Supervisor on duty at 719-255-3286 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Kraemer Family Library extends borrowing privileges to a variety of University, local, and state-affiliated individuals. Please note that in all instances, patrons must have valid ID in order to check out materials.
University of Colorado students, faculty, and staff
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Alumni
University of Colorado at Colorado Springs Retirees
Kraemer Library will continue to extend borrowing privileges to all faculty and staff who retire as employees of UCCS. A special borrower's card may be obtained from the Circulation Desk. Privileges include borrowing of locally owned materials, Prospector loans and interlibrary loan. The same policies that govern current faculty/staff borrowing will apply to retired faculty/staff as well.
Listening In students
Colorado Library Card (CLC) Patrons
Other Colorado universities and colleges
The Library has agreements with the following universities and colleges:
|Adams State College
Arapahoe Community College
Colorado Mountain College
Colorado State University (Fort Collins)
Colorado State University (Pueblo)
|Colorado Technical University
Fort Lewis College
Mesa State College
Morgan Community College
Pikes Peak Community College
Pueblo Community College
Trinidad State Junior College
USAFA (cadets and faculty)
University of Denver
University of Northern Colorado
Western State College
Kraemer Family Library patrons may establish "authorized borrowers" (e.g. spouse, partner, parent, child) who can check-out books, renew items, and place holds on KFL items and Prospector items on their behalf.
The patron designating the Authorized Borrower is responsible for fines and fees associated with materials checked-out to their account by any Authorized Borrowers. Library notices will be mailed to the primary account holder, not to Authorized Borrowers.
Authorized borrowers must submit their valid picture ID (e.g. a UCCS ID card, driver's license, passport, military ID) when picking up items or requesting items on behalf of another. Under no circumstances are patrons allowed to check-out items without presenting a valid picture ID.
Patrons wishing to add Authorized Borrowers to their account must complete the Authorized Borrower Form which must be submitted in-person by the primary account holder at the Library's Main Circulation Desk.
Certain users must register with the library before you can take advantage of borrowing privileges. Library cards may be obtained by a person of any age so long as they can present the required forms of identification and documentation listed below. To register:
In addition to showing proof of identification as specified, anyone registering with the library's system will need to fill out a form at the Circulation Desk.
CU Undergraduate &
CU Faculty &
|CLC and other|
college and university
|Main Collection||3 weeks||6 weeks||3 months||3 weeks|
|Children's Literature||3 weeks|
|Popular Readings||2 weeks|
|Current Periodicals||Overnight*||1 day||Do not circulate.
For use only in the Library.
|Bound Periodicals||Do not circulate.
For use only in the Library.
|Special Collections||2 hours LIBRARY USE ONLY|
|Reserves||Loan periods vary: 2 or 4 hours; overnight*, 1, 3, or 7 days||Do not circulate.|
annual reports, slides
|Reference||Do not circulate.
For use only in the Library.
|Bike Locks||Loan periods vary: 1, 3, or 7 days|
|Prospector||Books: 3 weeks; Videos: 1 week.||Not available|
|Interlibrary Loan||Loan periods vary and are set by the lending institutions||Not available|
Available media equipment includes:
Media equipment is available at the Circulation Desk and may only be checked out by faculty and staff. The Library DOES NOT deliver or retrieve equipment. Call the Circulation desk at (719) 255-3286 to reserve equipment.
For information on delivery of media equipment for classroom use, please contact the Information Technology Help Desk at (719) 255-3536.
Most items may be renewed 3 times, with the following exceptions:
With the exception of items requested through Interlibrary Loan, materials may be renewed over the phone by calling (719) 255-3296 or (719) 255-3286. UCCS affiliated patrons may also renew books online from the library home page by clicking on the link for My Checkout Record. Email requests may be sent to email@example.com, or a response may be sent to an email circulation notice.
You can place a hold any available, circulating library materials online in the Kraemer Library Catalog and have them retrieved by library staff and held at the Circulation Desk for you. To place a hold in the Kraemer Library Catalog, simply click on the Request/Hold link in the catalog record and put in your name and your UCCS Barcode number located on the back of your UCCS ID card. Your request will be sent to the Library's Circulation Department and you will be sent an email when your hold(s) are available to be picked up at the Circulation Desk. It takes about 24 hours for available items to be requested and fulfilled.
Any item is subject to recall if needed for a course reserve.
Faculty/staff checkouts are subject to recall after 6 weeks if requested by another patron.
There is a 3 day grace period for all materials except Reserve collection materials and periodicals. On the fourth day a fine of $1 is charged with fines accruing at $.50/day after that. Reminder notices are sent by e-mail 3 days before items are due. Overdue notices are sent out the day after an item is due. Materials that are not returned automatically convert to billed status after 30 days.
Standard fines for reserve materials are $.50/hour for 2 and 4 hour checkouts and $2.00 /day for 1, 3 and 7 day checkouts. Fines for high-demand reserve items may be billed at a rate as high as $5.00/hour. Reserve items are billed 72 hours after they are due and replacement charges for course materials may be billed for the actual item costs rather than the standard $150.00 fee.
Library patrons are responsible for knowing when their materials are due regardless of whether or not a notice is received.
Faculty and staff are not charged overdue fines; however, faculty and staff are billed for the replacement cost of any item that is overdue for more than 50 days.
Students who have more than $20.00 in fines will have their borrowing privileges suspended and will be unable to renew items, request items, or access online resources. Student must pay fines below $20.00 in order to reinstate full library privileges. For all other patrons, fines in excess of $5.00 will result in a suspension of borrowing, renewing, and requesting privileges. To reinstate privileges fines must be paid below $5.00.
Materials may be returned to either of the circulation desks within the library, to the outside book drop located on the south side of the library, or the book drop located along the outside west wall of the building. Materials may be returned to another library in the state that has courier service to UCCS, however the patron is responsible for all materials until the item(s) are checked in here. Courier deliveries can take several days.
The standard charge for lost library material is $75 or the actual replacement cost of the item, whichever is greater. In addition, there will be a $25 processing fee plus a $20 overdue fine.
If the lost material is eventually returned to the library, the charge will be lowered to a $20 overdue fine per item. If the patron has already paid for the lost items and then returns the material, the patron may receive a refund of the $75 charge or the amount paid if greater than $75. The $25 processing fee will not be refunded. However, if the library has already replaced the material no refund will be available to the patron.
A library patron may choose to replace the item with another copy of the same item. The Access Services Librarian or the Head of User Services must approve replacement copies. The $25 processing fee will still be charged.
Damaged library materials that are beyond repair will be billed as for a lost item. Damaged items that may be repaired through rebinding will be billed at $20 and a $25 processing fee will be applied.
Library circulation records are strictly confidential. Library records will not be made available except pursuant to legal process, order or subpoena.