Department of History

Honors, Fellowships, and Scholarships

The Department sponsors a local chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honors society. Please speak to the Chair of the Department for more information, and go here to download an application form.

Annual Cesar E. Chavez Scholarship

The Cesar E. Chavez Scholarship Competition is specifically designed to give students the opportunity to submit scholarly work that focuses on a wide range of diversity issues. Diversity is defined in accordance with the University of Colorado’s definition, understood as referring to subjects/issues that pertain to traditionally underrepresented and historically oppressed target populations, primarily ethnic and racial minorities, women and GLBT persons and persons with disabilities. Go to the Women's and Ethnic Studies Program's website ( to get the application and the most recent announcement.

Annual Rosa Parks Scholarship

The Rosa Parks Scholarship Competition was designed to give students an opportunity to express in any medium the ideals that Rosa Parks represents. The competition is open to all undergraduate students currently matriculating at UCCS; and each student is encouraged to explore how best to express his or her own ideas and opinions regarding ideals such as equality, social justice, multiculturalism, diversity, and cultural pluralism or issues such as racism, sexism, homophobia, social inequality, or injustice. Go to the Women's and Ethnic Studies Program's website ( for the application and the latest announcement.

American Association of University Women (AAUW) Colorado Springs Scholarships

The Colorado Springs Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW), the oldest women’s organization in the United States, whose mission is equity for all women and girls, life-long education, and positive societal change, awards local scholarships.

Chancellor's Leadership Class

The Chancellor's Leadership Class (CLC) is a university leadership development program committed to education, personal improvement, and community building. CLC scholars come from a variety of backgrounds and can apply as high school seniors, transfer students, or at anytime while at UCCS as long as the student has been at UCCS for a minimum of two years.

Florence Murphy History Scholarship

he Florence Murphy Scholarship is possible through the generosity of one of the most distinguished graduates of UCCS. The scholarship consists of two $750 awards for the school year for non-traditional undergraduate students (25 years or older) who are History majors.

Prestigious National Scholarships

Some national scholarships have and might require UCCS endorsement. Make sure to check with the Office of Financial Aid about campus deadlines and campus advisors.

Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award

The Outstanding Undergraduate Student award is decided and awarded each spring semester at the LAS Awards Ceremony, as well as at the History Department awards ceremony/celebration.

Phi Alpha Theta

The Department sponsors a local chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national History Honors Society. For more information, please contact the Chair of the Department.

Wunderli Scholarships

The Department gives out annual scholarships of up to $5,000 per student, named in honor of Rick Wunderli, long-time Professor of Medieval History at UCCS. The scholarship comes from an endowment established by Judith Price (1944-2012), a long-time Instructor in the Department.