Network File Storage Information

Enterprise/Excelsior Z: Drive File Recovery

SUMMARY
This help sheet will show you how to restore a file or folder on the network to a previous version. In the event that a file or folder is deleted or changed, it is possible to restore the folder to a previous date before the unwanted changes were made. It is important to remember that you can only perform this action on files and folders with specific network settings. IT supports the folders found on Excelsior, Enterprise, and Columbia.

Recovering Deleted Files
1. Browse to the folder in which the missing files were previously located.


2. Right-click on the folder you would like to recover a file from. Select Properties.


3. Select the tab labeled Previous Versions.


4. In the list, you will see the available restore points. It is usually best to start with as close a point as possible. If you know when the file was deleted, you will want to select the point before then. Once you have selected the restore point, click Open.


WARNING: If you decide use the Restore... button, you will delete any changes made to the folder after the time of the selected restore point.

5. In the new window, you will be able to see which files are available. If you do not see the file you are looking for, try another restore point. If you’ve found the desired file, right-click on it and select Copy.


6. In the folder where you would like the file to be located, right-click on open space, then select Paste.




In the event you have accidentally saved over a file or the file has become corrupted, follow the instructions below.


Restoring Files
1. Browse to the file that needs to be changed.


2. Right-click on the file you would like to recover. Select Properties.


3. Select the tab labeled Previous Versions.


4. In the list, you will see the available restore points. It is usually best to start with as close a point as possible. If you know when the file was accidentally modified, you will want to select the restore point before then. Once you have selected the restore point, click Open to preview the file. If the file you opened is the correct version, close it and select Restore…


WARNING: If you decide to use the Restore... button, you will delete any changes made to the file after the time of the selected restore point.

5. In the folder you where the file is located, you will see the restored file under its original name.