Syllabus

SyllabusSYLLABUS

 

GES 1980 001 Spring 2014 Syllabus

Grade Menu


Required textbooks:

World Regional Geography: Global Patterns, Local Lives.

Pulsipher and Pulsipher, W.H. Freeman, 2011. (ISBN-13: 978-1-4292-5351-2)


GES 1980 Spring 2014

DATE

TOPIC

READINGS/Assignments Due

Tues Jan 21
Introduction Pulsipher Chapt 1
Thurs Jan 23
Maps and Location; Worksheet 1 Handed Out Pulsipher Chapt 1
Tues Jan 28
Europe

Pulsipher Chapt 4

Thurs Jan 30
Europe
Geography Bowl
Worksheet 1 Due
Pulsipher
Chapt 4
Tues Feb 4
Europe: Map Quiz 1; "Be There"
Map Quiz 1; "Be There"
Thurs Feb 6
North America Pulsipher Chapt 2
Tues Feb 11
North America: Map Quiz 2; "Be There" Where We Stand Map Quiz 2; "Be There" 
Thurs Feb 13
Middle/South America
Geography Bowl
Pulsipher: Chapt 3
Tues Feb 18
Middle/South America: Map Quiz 3; "Be There" Map Quiz 3; "Be There"
Thurs Feb 20
Middle/South America Pulsipher Chapt 3
     
Tues Feb 25
Exam 1 or Work independently on your Unit 1 Assessment Work on Unit 1 Assessment
 
Thurs Feb 27
In-class exrecise
Assessment 1 Due 8 AM
Tues Mar 4

Russia

Russia Geography Bowl

Pulsipher Chapt 5
Thurs Mar 6
Russia: Map Quiz 4; "Be There"
Worksheet 2 Handed Out
Map Quiz 4; "Be There"
Tues Mar 11
North Africa/Southwest Asia Pulsipher Chapt 6
Thurs Mar 13
North Africa/Southwest Asia Worksheet 2 Due
Tues Mar 18
North Africa/Southwest Asia  
Thurs Mar 20
N Africa/SW Asia: Map Quiz 5; "Be There"
Sub-Saharan Africa

Map Quiz 5; "Be There"
Mar 23-Mar 30 Spring Break - No classes
Tues Apr 1
Sub-Saharan Africa Pulsipher 7
Thurs Apr 3
Sub-Saharan Africa: Map Quiz 6; "Be There"
Map Quiz 6; "Be There"
Tues Apr 8
Exam 2 or Work independently on your Unit 2 Assessment Work on Unit 2 Assessment
Thurs Apr 10
Asia: India; China; Japan; and, Korea
Worksheet 3 Handed Out
Assessment 2 Due 8 AM
Pulsipher Chapt 8
Tues Apr 15
South Asia: Map Quiz 7; "Be There"
Asia: Population Geography
Map Quiz 7; "Be There"
Thurs Apr 17
World Cafe: Population Geography and the Ecological Footprint
Worksheet 4 Handed Out
Worksheet 3 Due
Pulsipher Chapt 9
Tues Apr 22
East Asia: Map Quiz 8; "Be There" Map Quiz 8; "Be There"
Thurs Apr 24
Asia: Globalization
Worksheet 4 Due
Tues Apr 29
Southeast Asia: Map Quiz 9; "Be There"
Pulsipher Chapt 10
Map Quiz 9; "Be There"
Thurs May 1
Oceania - Whale Rider - Class starts 7:55 AM!
Tues May 6
Oceania: Map Quiz 10; "Be There"
Asia and Oceania Geography Bowl (Chapters 8-11)

Pulsipher Chapt 11
Map Quiz 10; "Be There"
Thurs May 8
Whole World Geography Bowl Whole World Geo Bowl Questions
Thurs May 15
Unit 3 Assessment Due NLT 9:00 AM Assessment 3 Due 9 AM