Alumni and Friends Award

Alumni Twitter Facebook LinkedIn Alumni Home Pinterest Instagram

Award 1 Award 2 Award 3

Alumni and Friends Award

The Alumni and Friends Association is presented annually to individuals or organizations that have demonstrated a significant contribution to further the growth and development of the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

The criteria for the Alumni and Friends Award are as follows:

  • The candidate does not have to be an alumnus
  • The candidate can be an individual, organization, business or agency
  • The award is not open to current university staff, students or faculty, since these groups already have their own awards programs established
  • The candidate must have demonstrated a very strong commitment to our campus

Over the years, many dedicated volunteers, donors or community partners have been honored with the Alumni and Friends Award (you can learn more about past recipient below).

Interested in nominating an individual or organization for the award? Contact the Office of University Events and Alumni Relations at (719) 255-3180 for more information.

Recipients of the Alumni and Friends Award

Past recipients of the Alumni and Friends Award are listed below. Where available, you can click on an individual's/organization's name for more information about contributions to UCCS.

2012 Nancy Lewis
2011 Edna Daniels
2010 Becky Medved
2009 Dunn & Associates
2008 Steve Bach
2007 Mary Osborne
2006 Lynne Fitzhugh
2005 Chandler "Chan" Bergen
2004 Mike Vigil
2003 Lorne C. Kramer
2002 Ronald V. Chernak
2001 Joseph and Dorothy Petta
2000 Sharon Berthrong
1999 Robert Spears
1998 James C. Berger
1997 Gary L. Burch
1996 Matt Coleman and Michael Byram
1995 Marge Patterson
1994 Yusef Komunyakaa
1993 Martha Mattoon
1992 Floyd & Dona Hildebrand
1991 Scott Oki
1990 Florence M. Murphy and El Pomar Foundation
1989 The Schantz Family
1988 No Award Presented
1987 Marie W. Cannon
1986 Bea Vradenburg
1985 Ross Lyndon-James
1984 Fred M. Betz
1983 Digital Equipment Company
1982 Chamber of Commerce
1981 Virginia Trembly, John W. Riggen and Brooke Sunderland
1980 Arthur C. Herzberger and Roland C. Rautenstraus
1979 No Award Presented
1978 John W. Armstrong, Sr.